Comics/Graphic Novels

John Flood (2015) issue 1 Comic Book Review

I’m a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes, scrap that I’m a huge fan of mystery’s in general. I love watching the process of how the crime is solved. It does not just stop there I have bookmarks on the unsolved mysteries wiki, yes I am that much of a nerd (or weirdo) although I’m not sure which best applies to me but one does. Four years ago the book The Strange Talent of Luther Strode was brought to our attention and along with it its creator Justin Jordan, taking the scene by storm people quickly grew to love it, well now Justin is back and he has brought us one of the strangest and most uniquely brilliant mini series I have ever read.

john-flood-1-review-x-writer-justin-jordan-talks-x-and-his-move-from-superhero-comics

John Flood #1 Main Cover by Jorge Coelho

This time he has bought us John Flood, a six part mini series that combines the metaphysical with the procedural in a way we think is really fresh. Joining him is Jorge Coelho, whose fantastic work on Polarity and Sleepy Hollow made him a BOOM! Studios favorite. This is perfect for fans of Desolation Jones and Sherlock Holmes.

screen-shot-2015-08-03-at-4-28-49-pm-png

Let’s face it, as usual with any graphic novel it’s the art that’s going to draw you in first and this does not disappoint. It’s both grounded and surreal, or to be more exact it bounces between them. John is trapped in the permanent realm state and so to is the reader which is the greatest joy of the series. It lets the artist have a lot of fun with very mundane scenes and through that they can make some exquisite art.

dream-png

As for the characters well it follows our two criminal investigators, one with his feet on and the other has his head somehow in the clouds and up his ass simultaneously. So if you’re a fan of the Watson and Holmes dynamic then this will be the series for you. Once again Boom! Studios have shown us that great comics don’t necessarily need to be about super heroes and they have given us a detective that might give Batman a run for his money.

flood-and-berry-png

Below is a quote taken directly from Boom! Studios official website.
What It Is: As the result of a government experiment, John Flood no longer needs to sleep, but now he’s in a constant dream state and sometimes can’t tell what’s real and what isn’t. A side effect is that he sees patterns and makes connections no one else can, which serve him well in his new “career” as a makeshift PI. Together with a burly ex-cop, Flood begins to investigate when he “sees” one man responsible for thousands of unsolved murders, but now he himself has caught the killer’s attention…

JohnFlood_001_Credits_Page

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s